Anything and everything

Okay…so yah, it’s been forever and a day again since I’ve blogged about my life in the city. Maybe that’s simply because there’s sooo much to do in the city…work, friends, shopping, swimming, late nights at the hot tub, adventures at the lake, dinner dates at great places…. But unfortunately, it seems that almost everything fun costs money! So I’m glad for a good job that I not only love but that brings in some good bucks!

This week I must officially soar with my own two wings at work. No nurse with be right beside me every step of the way but there will always be other nurses just a hop and a skip away should I need help, advice, or simply some reassurance. Wednesday night will be my first night when I have MY VERY OWN babies to take care of, to keep alive, and to show love. Although I must admit I’m a little bit nervous and unsure, I am also very excited. I’m excited to develop my own routine, as all nurses do. I’m excited because this is another step in fulfilling my dream of becoming a real NICU nurse! I’m excited to get to know my own babies and their families. I’m excited to get to know the nurses, Drs., and other staff on the unit. I’m excited just to stand on my own two feet and hopefully not sink…?! πŸ™‚

I have been on the 12 hour night shifts for one week now. I haven’t found it hard to work during the typical sleeping hours, but I have found it difficult to sleep during the day. It invariably seems that the lawn mower is running outside my apartment window or kids are screaming at the pool or there are stomping footsteps coming from my ceiling. I’m realizing it’s not nearly as easy to sleep during the day in the city than it was when I was at home in my secluded basement bedroom. 😦 But I suppose I shall manage…I really have no choice but to hope and pray to get onto the day shift as soon as possible! In the meantime though, I do really like the night shift crew and the pace is much slower and quieter. Sometimes the quietness at night is not such a good thing though…especially about 3:00-4:00 am when my lack of sleep is starting to catch up with me.

I have gotten to know some really great co-workers already and we’ve been able to hang out some at the pool or at one of our favorite places in Edmond…ORANGE TREE (frozen yogurt). We had a class day today at work and met there late this afternoon for a sweet treat!

I’ve been enjoying running outside much lately mostly around the neighborhood streets close by. But for the first time, Saturday I got up bright and early πŸ™‚ and went out to Lake Hefner by 7:00 am and ran around the Lake! It was sooo incredibly beautiful. I loved it! I wish I could go out there everyday…but it does take extra time to drive there and such and then actually run my 5-6 miles. So…I don’t think it’s quite doable everyday but certainly I’m going to make every effort to get out there more often. Like TOMORROW morning! I can’t wait!

Last week, I finally finished most of the decorating in my bathroom and bedroom…pretty much have all my wall decor up now. But still, when I go shopping, I find new ideas…ahhhhh, and I don’t need any more stuff or I won’t have any place to put it!!! I guess I need to practice what they call spending my money wisely a little more.

I’ve enjoyed several outings with some friends from church this past week. Sunday evening, Jennifer and I sent nearly three hours at Lake Hefner…watching the breathtaking sunset while having a picnic, playing some random games, and chatting. We even dipped our feet in the water and walked along the lake…pretending we were at the beach! We had a really fun time. But before we knew it, the sun had set and it was dark outside. That was our cue to pack up and head back to the apartment. I think we could have stayed out there all night…it was such a beautiful quiet night. Probably not the safest or smartest thing to do though…so we didn’t! πŸ™‚

Saturday evening, I played some tennis with some friends. Although I’ve never played much tennis…maybe only once or twice in fact, it’s been a sport that I always thought would be fun to get good at. We had a really good time, got some really good practice, and I even surprised myself a few times. It was quite humid and warm though so we journeyed to a Jamba Juice for smoothies to cool off after the workout!

The past couple of Sunday’s, I have been attending Quail Springs Baptist Church. Besides the convenient location (it is only like 2 blocks from our apartment), I like it because it appears to be more conservative than some of the other churches I have visited. The pastor is going through the book of James right now in his sermons…discussing what it means to live out loud the life of faith. I’ve also really enjoyed the Sunday School class that is studying ‘trusting God.’ It is challenging, thought-provoking, and encouraging. I look forward to the Sunday’s ahead and what God is going to teach me!

Leave a Reply

