Tough decisions

Hey guys! Yah, I know! I’m a slacker…in the blogging sphere again. oops! I can’t believe it’s July already and that means several things…good and bad. First off, that means that my weeks of orientation at work (when I’m paired with another nurse) are just about to end and I’m gonna be ON MY OWN! That’ scary but I know it will be okay. It also means that in a week I will be living the night life in the city. Literally. July 16th I hit the night shift. *sigh* On the rather sad side, July means that camp is here and I’m missing it. Good News Camp that I have attended for the past 11 years is happening this week and the next and I’M NOT THERE!!! AHHHH…it’s tearing me apart!!! Yet, I wouldn’t trade moving here to the city and my new job for anything, not even camp. But I’m missing it awfully much. Miss the people, the good times, the laughter, the sleepless nights, the campers, EVERYTHING! Serena better bring back lots of pictures of lots of stories! 🙂

This past weekend were two very important events for our country and my life. Saturday was the 4th of July holiday and it was the day my dad was born. It is the day we celebrate the freedom we have in the United States, most of all the freedom to worship the Lord Jesus Christ. And it is also the day that the most important man in my life right now came into the world…MY DAD! So…in celebration of the two events and seeing that I had off of work for 5 days over the weekend, I went back home to the country Friday and surprised my Dad! Serena had homemade ice cream and German Chocolate Cake waiting (she knew I was coming but Dad had NO idea!) for my arrival. It totally took Dad my surprise and his smile was priceless. It was fun! Then of course while I was home, I had to spend some time (actually a great deal of time) in Meade catching up with friends from my ‘old’ job. Even attended a wedding Saturday evening and got to watch some fireworks! It was great…but by Sunday afternoon, I was ready for city life again! 🙂

I worked today and it was a very good learning experience. Every day, I’m learning more and more and doing things I’ve not done before. I love the challenge…and I think that’s one of the things that ‘bored’ me so much back in Meade…there was not much of a challenge anymore! I’ve encountered some tough issues at work involving medical decisions and it has made me ponder a lot. At what point do you let a baby go? Just because your baby is not going to be normal, do you take them off of life support….? Heart medications…? Do surgery to prolong a handicap life…? Each of these precious lives, not matter how ‘unnormal’ IS a gift from the Lord and is a life that God has created. So… it has made me ask myself, “what would Jesus do?” Something I should be asking every single day anyway but too often forget.

I still love the city and the job and am even considering continuing my education…at least getting my Bachelor’s degree and possibly becoming a nurse practitioner. Yah…never thought I would even think about school again! Briann and I are still church shopping so that is still a huge prayer request. We hope to find a church soon that we can call home. Patience…patience…patience!

Leave a Reply

