A tragic loss

As Friday rolled around, I was really looking forward to this weekend for several reasons. First, being that I was off from work. Secondly, I was planning to pick up my new car Saturday. And thirdly, the weather was suppose to be really nice so I was hoping to get outside some. I realized soon Saturday morning…that God had a few different plans for my weekend. After making a phone call into the car dealer, I was disappointed to learn that they still did not have my new car. (it’s a rather loooong story!) Yea, I was sad. And then my phone rang…it was a friend from church. I learned the dreaded news that a family from our congregation just lost their 16 year old son in a car wreck about 8:30 that morning. At first, I was in disbelief and couldn’t believe it. The tragic loss was on my mind all day (and all weekend), and I prayed for the family frequently. To a very minor degree, I can identify with the pain and ache of their hearts, since I also have lost a very dear family member – my own mother. It seemed to put a damper on the entire weekend. Church was sad this morning as everyone was mourning the loss of a son, a brother, a friend, and a fellow Believer. The young boy’s dad shared a passage of Scripture that was perhaps a good reminder for all of us. And as he said, “I’ve read these verses many times, but they became very real to me yesterday.”

James 4:13-17 ~

“Come now, you who say, ‘Today or tomorrow we will go to such and such a city, spend a year there, buy and sell, and make a profit’; whereas you do not know what will happen tomorrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away. Instead you ought to say, ‘If the Lord wills, we shall live and do this or that.’ But now you boast in your arrogance. All such boasting is evil. Therefore, to him who knows to do good and does not do it, to him it is sin.”

Our earthly lives are merely a window of time and we never know when our window may close. Today is a gift from God. We are not guaranteed tomorrow. Live today like it is your last, because indeed…it could be.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Joshua said,

    How tragic. My prayers go with you and the rest of your church.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

