Who am I?

I have been meaning to publish this post for quite a while, but never finished the thoughts that I had begun…until now. Perhaps now too it seems even more fitting after hearing the song, Who Am I, by Casting Crowns the other evening.  

A couple weeks ago in Sunday school, our teacher asked the question, “Who are you?” Apart from your name,  where you live, your family, your job…ect., how would you answer the question, “Who are you?” Whenever someone asks me that question whether at work or while shopping or at church, my answer is usually something like this, “I’m Quincy’s daughter,” “I’m Jena,”  “I’m the middle sister,” “I live at Ensign,” or “I’m a nurse at Meade Hospital.”  Just as that is the truth, it’s also not the complete truth. What if I were to start answering such questions with answers like “I’m a child of God,” “I’m a part of God’s family,” or “I serve the Lord Jesus.” Perhaps I would get a few strange looks and comments and some ackward silent moments, but in reality, my identity first and foremost rests in Jesus Christ. My job could change. I might relocate (hopefully someday!). I could even change my name! 😉 But I will always be a child of the King of Kings. I will always be a part of His family. And ‘my job’ will always be serving Him. Forever and ever!

WHO AM I really? I AM A CHILD OF GOD! That means He is my Father. That means He is worthy of my respect, honor, and love. That means I am to obey Him. That means I am to listen to Him. That means I am to talk to Him. So…why do I so often forget about my heavenly Father? Why do I fail to communicate with Him as I should? Why do I live sometimes as if He doesn’t exist? Why do I try to hide things ‘in the closet’ as if He doesn’t see and know everything?

Is it because I’m ashamed? YES! Is it because I want to look good to the world? YES! Is it because living a life disciplined and devoted to Jesus Christ is hard? YES! Is it because I fear rejection and persecution? YES! Is it because I don’t want to give up some of those things that I’m hiding ‘in the closet’? YES!

Who do I really want by life defined by…the world, or the God of the universe? What does God think about my life? What am I doing to please Him? Am I forgoing the passing pleasures of this earthy life and my fleshly desires to further the kingdom of God?

Do I really want to answer my own questions…?

no, but…

The ugly truth hurts. I fail so much at “living for Jesus a life that is true.” Yet, despite my failures, I have Someone living within me giving me the want-to and the power to do what pleases the Lord. Jesus didn’t ascend into heaven and say “so long, you’re on your own now.” He gave me a Helper, the Holy Spirit. John 14:26 says, “But the Helper, Whom the Father will send in My Name; He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all things that I said to you.” (NKJV) He gives me the power to say “NO” to temptation and “YES” to God.

Leave a Reply

