“…in His time.”

“…in His time.” These three simple yet profound words have been ringing in my head all day. Why? Well yes, we chanted the words of this song during church this morning. But I think that recently God has been *trying* to impress something on me too. A very difficult and sad situation has arisen in my life this Summer and it has seemed to only get worse and more complicated as time has gone on. I’ve struggled with feelings of anger, disappointment, despair, regret, loss, rejection, and discouragement. I’ve wondered why God has allowed this. I can’t see any good in it. And I so desperately want to be able to step in and completely change the entire situation.  But I can’t. I want to be the super-hero and save the day. But I can’t. God has been showing me He is in control and I am not. He knows the situation far better than I do. He is the only real Super-Hero and the only One Who can intervene. BUT…He will do so “in His time.” God is teaching me to surrender this to Him, to lay it down at His feet. to realize that there is absolutely nothing I can do but pray, and to trust Him. TRUST HIM…yes! I know I can trust Him…completely. 100%.  But that head knowledge must also become heart knowledge. I’m reminded of Isaiah 55:8-9 ~

“‘For My thoughts are not your thoughts,
      Nor are your ways My ways,’ says the LORD. 
       ‘For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
      So are My ways higher than your ways,
      And My thoughts than your thoughts.'”

Indeed…so true! And I am soooo glad that His ways and thoughts are higher than my own. Even though I can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel…yet, God is trustable. He knows the future. He has a purpose, a plan, that is perfect and will be beautiful…”in His time.”

“In His time, in His time,

He makes all things beautiful, in His time.

Lord, please show me everyday,

As You’re teaching me Your way,

That You do just what You say, in Your time.

In Your time, in Your time,

You make all things beautiful, in Your time.

Lord, my life to You I bring,

May each song I have to sing,

Be to You a lovely thing, in Your time.”

Aren’t those words astoundingly beautiful!? They have been to me a comfort and a shimmer of joy in the midst of what seems to be a never ending saga. And so…I can sleep tonight knowing and believing that my great God can turn even the most awful nightmare into something good and beautiful “…in His time.”

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Shane said,

    So true. I’ve been blogging on the same thoughts recently. Especially on Joseph. And how he was able to endure the hardships. Then when he was reuniited with his brothers he loved them. And told them it was all in God’s plan. We want to see God’s plan unfold in our lives over night. But more often than not, our Biblical examples show us that it may take years to get any glimps of undertanding. So, we can only trust in His time.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

