Biking and driving

I am off work this weekend…yea!! And although I haven’t done anything extremely exciting and don’t have anything exceptionally thrilling planned, sometimes the mundane days are the best. I met a friend from work for lunch and a chat in Dodge today then made a quick trip to the mall and bought some new Skechers. They were on sale and I’ve been in need of some new running shoes for a while. πŸ˜‰ When I returned home, I found Dad snoozing on the couch in the living room (I don’t even think he heard me come home…) and Serena downstaires sewing (of course!). After checking my email and facebook, I was itching to get outside so I started riding my bike down our country road. It was warm, yes, but I didn’t really realize how steaming HOT it really was…until I hit main street Ensign, just five miles from home! =D Nothing very exciting was happening in Ensign except that the bank sign read 98 degrees. Okay…so now I have to go another five miles to get back home and I’m already literally drenched in sweat and my mouth is screaming for water. Or…I could call Dad, tell him how really stupid I was to ride my bike this far in the heat, and have him come pick me up. I voted to ride my bike another five miles (probably another not-so-wise decision). At first it wasn’t too bad…until I had to exert a lot of effort to go up the hill in addition to battling the wind. Another sore choice…I should have gone the other direction so I would have had the wind helping to push me back home. I was counting down the miles and FINALLY I hit the corner of a mile from home…suddenly, I had a new burst of energy! It was downhill from here! Passed the neighbor’s house and a few moments later, parked my bike in the garage, walked into the house, and as I grabbed my water bottle out of the fridge, Dad says, “a little warm isn’t it?” To which I replied, “yea…a little TOO warm!” After chugging down a liter of cold water, I flopped into the glider in the living room, and just sat there for a short while in a daze I think. The bike ride actually felt really good (now that I was home!) and even the baking hot sweating thirsty feeling I liked. But most of all it was worth an hour of my time because…I got a good tan! πŸ˜‰

This afternoon, I chatted with my little sister on the phone a while. Hadn’t talked to her for about a week. She is loving the ritzy uptown life in Alabama and is really enjoying her internship with the Southern Living Corporation. Hummm…we’re contemplating taking a family road trip out there in October or November. I think it would be a lot of fun and Dad’s even willing to leave the farm for a few days! πŸ˜‰ But of course, it would probably have to be after wheat planting and milo harvest.

Now I’m getting real serious about buying a new car. I know, I know, I’ve been thinking about it all Summer but it seems I’ve been gone so much that I kinda put it on the back burner for a while. Since I’ve done a lot of looking and researching on the net, I’m ready to hit the car lots and do some test driving! Oh yeah!!! Here’s what my options look like at this point: (A) the Honda Civic, (B) the Pontiac G5, (C) the Mitsubishi Eclipse (D) the Hyundai Tiburon, and (E) the Chevy Colbert. I really like the looks and style of the Mitsubishi and Hyundai the best…but the nearest dealership is three hours away. The Honda Civic is probably the cheapest and gets the best gas mileage but I think I’ve ruled it out because it lacks a few features that I want. So…I’m thinking that it is ultimately going to be between the Chevy and the Pontiac. I’ve actually fallen in love with the NEW ’09 Mazda RX-8…that is one sweet hot car!!! Check it out…it is totally AWESOME! But…unfortunately, it doesn’t do very well on gas and is a few thousand dollars out of my price range! Guess I’ll have to fall in love with something else! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

