My little sister

In less than 13 days, my little sister, Krissa, will be walking across the graduation stage at Bob Jones University. I can’t believe it! It seems like not very long ago that we made the long road trip to Greenville, SC, the van packed to the rim, and left her behind as she ventured out into college life. But this time as we visit Greenville again, she will be returning home with us (for a while anyway)! The van will still be packed to the rim…and I fear we might have to rent a U-Haul for the journey home! 😉 As editor of the college newspaper, The Collegian, she has had a very busy senior year. But I don’t think she would have had it any other way.

 Krissa

For me, I’m super pumped that I will be seeing her very soon! And I’m excited that she will be coming home for a while so we can get caught up on all of our sister-to-sister talks. However, I’ve realized over the past couple of years as Krissa has been gone, that times have changed…a lot. Yes, she is still my little sister and always will be…but I must face reality that she doesn’t plan on continuing to live at home. 😦 She’ll probably be writing for some prestigeous magazine in a far away state and…well, we won’t get to see her except over Christmas. I must admit that saddens me. I am happy for her and hope that she excels in writing for a magazine and finds a job that she truly loves. But I guess I don’t want to let go of those years when we three sisters were always together. Talking together. Giggling together. Playing together. We have always had extremely close relationships. The years of her being away at college has already severed that close relationship to a minor degree. I guess time can’t be stopped. Sisters grow up. Things change. Nothing will ever be the same again.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Pierre Bellville said,

    Totally agree with you. It is so sad how life moves, but it’s also good in some ways. If we didn’t leave behind elements of the past, we couldn’t find the beauty of the future. Or something like that. Anyway, I’m in total agreement with you. It’s so strange to think of one Smith girl without the other two. 🙂

  2. 2

    Serena said,

    I agree….time continues on. And while I wouldn’t want to go back to those days, it is saddening to see those days come to a close and know that those days will never come again! But still they’re such great memories!! And, you know, in our family, we will NEVER OUTLIVE the title of “the girls”. 🙂

  3. 3

    Krissa said,

    Awww! Jena! I almost cried reading this entry. 😦 But just think of all the fun we’ll have when you two come up to AL to visit me!!! 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

