If you had it to do over, would you become a nurse?

This question was asked in the March issue of the RN magazine. And responses varied from “I would certainly pursue a career in nursing” to “no, I would not.” I didn’t have to give the question much thought. The answer is pretty simple…YES, I WOULD! Sure, there have been those horrifically long hectic days when I began to wonder about my career choice…but ultimately I love my job and I love nursing. Why do I love nursing so much…? Here’s just a few of the many reasons.

  1. I ♥ the opportunity to take care of other people, strangers or those that I know.
  2. I ♥ the adrenaline rush when a critical patient comes into the emergency room or when the “CODE BLUE” light goes off.
  3. I ♥ being able to visit with patients one on one and get to know them as a person, not just as a patient.
  4. I ♥ being able to put a smile on a sick kid’s face…even if it is just because I gave them a sucker or a SpongeBob bandaid.
  5. I ♥ being able to share in both the joy and the pain in the lives of others.
  6. I ♥ being that ‘beakon of hope’ to someone who may have no one else.
  7. I ♥ to impart the knowledge I have learned through the medical field to my patients and their families.
  8. I ♥ to be apart of someone’s last days in this life.
  9. I ♥ giving and receiving hugs to sweet old ladies who want to be in the hospital just so they don’t have to be home alone.
  10. I ♥ joking and laughing with my patients.
  11. I ♥ answering a call light and being able to ask, “how can I help you?”
  12. I ♥ earning the trust of my patients.
  13. I ♥ being an advocate for my patients, even if it does ‘rock the boat.’
  14. I ♥ walking into my patient’s rooms in the morning and saying “Good morning. My name is Jena and I will be your nurse today.”
  15. I ♥ to hear my patient say, “I’m ready to go home to be with Jesus.” 
  16. I ♥ to give comfort to a frightened patient or family member.
  17. I ♥ to read Scripture or pray or sing hymns with my patient, whose world seems to be falling apart.
  18. I ♥ to be able to make a difference in someone else’s life, even if it is in the smallest way.
  19. I ♥ to show the love and compassion of Jesus for my patients through the things that I do and say.
  20. I ♥ to serve my patients.
  21. I ♥ opportunities when I can share the Gospel of Jesus Christ with my patients.
  22. I ♥ to be apart of my patient’s world, even if they do think that the maintenance man is under their bed or they call the Sheriff’s office because they think that I’m poisoning them.  😉 (yes! it’s true!)
  23. I ♥ even the rough days when I could pull my hair out, because that is when I learn to be patient, courageous, honest, kind, loving, gentle, compassionate, responsible, unselfish, cheerful, friendly…and all those things that I want to be every single day that I am a nurse.

Why 23 reasons? Well, actually the list grows each day and could go on forever…but these were some of the first things that came to my mind. Don’t you want to be a nurse too?

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Kaylene said,

    this is SUCH a good post. I bookmarked it on delicious and this is what I said.

    “written by my friend Jena. Awesome reasons for why she loves her job. yeah, it does make me want to pursue nursing a bit more.yet it really makes me think about my reasons for doing anything. I think I have oppurtunities like this that I turn my back on.”

  2. 2

    alilyamongthethorns said,

    awww! Thanks Kaylene!

  3. 3

    Janessa said,

    Those are some of the same reasons I like being a social worker!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

