Funny little story

Oh my goodness…the weather was amazingly beautiful today!! It’s making me want spring to be here really soon! Not sure I can wait until April…but I suppose I don’t have much of a choice, huh?!?! Tomorrow though, I think I’ll be reminded that indeed winter is not over and I can’t put my coat away just yet. πŸ˜‰

I washed my very VERY dirty car this afternoon. It was in pretty bad need of a bath after that rain shower that we got a few nights ago. Unfortunately much of the mud that I managed to get off of the car ended up on me! And so after all the splashing, splattering, and scrubbing mess, my car looked almost as good as new (not quite…) and I looked like I had freckles! Serena thought I looked pretty funny…it’s a good thing that she didn’t have a camera real handy!

Okay…here’s a cute funny little story that I think you’ll like. And the best part is that it is TRUE! It was the middle of the afternoon…I’d say about 3:30 pm. I’m out washing my car by the shed, where Dad is working. Dad gets a call on his cell phone from Serena (who was in the house by the way) who says she has lost her cell phone. Apparently Serena has already looked all over the house and tried calling her cell and hasn’t had any success in locating it. Serena had made a trip to the post office right after lunch and thought that perhaps she left it there…so as I drove my car back into the garage, she was on her way back down to the post office. She returned a short time later, cell phone in hand. But wait…this is the funny part! I said “I’m glad you found your phone and now I’m going to go take a shower because I feel like I’ve been in a mud pit.” Serena agrees and says, “Yea, you need a shower. I feel like I need one too.” To which I replied “Why do you need a shower…all you did was go down to the post office!” And Serena states emphatically, “I had to walk through the street to find my phone in the grass outside of the post office!” So I replied, “Oh boy, you had to walk outside to find your phone!” Yes, it pretty much takes a miracle or enough desperation to get that girl to go outside of the house…! And…Dad just grins! =)

My agenda tomorrow is this:

1) practice piano

2) grocery shopping

3) eating lunch with my Grandma at Pizza Hut

4) call one of my friends (whom I haven’t talked to for a while…we keep on playing phone tag!)

5) Kid’s Club tomorrow evening

I usually have piano lessons tomorrow morning too, but my teacher just called and is sick with the flu. 😦 Our study on the Armor of God for Kid’s Club has been really great! The kids are having fun with it…and Serena and I are too! Tomorrow we are discussing the Shield of Faith. The memory verse is one of my favorites: 2 Timothy 4:7 ~ “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.” Paul had indeed done all of that…I hope that I can say the same someday. That is the same verse that we had inscribed on Mom’s tombstone. I believe that she had fought the good fight, she finished the race, and she kept the faith…and it was time for her to go home. Her work on earth was done and she did it well.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Serena said,

    I’m glad you found it so amusing….:)

  2. 2

    alilyamongthethorns said,

    I found it more than amusing…I found it downright funny!! πŸ˜€

  3. 3

    Serena said,

    sure, you did and you had to tell the whole world about it! πŸ™‚


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

